Coronary angiography and left heart catheterization

1. What is coronary angiography ?   

The angiography is a medical imaging technique used in cardiology to visualize the coronary arteries. This is an additional medical examination invasive technique that uses X-ray and injection of iodinated contrast. It is a very accurate exam that can help to treat a coronary lesion in the same time (coronary angioplasty).

This exam is performed in hospital.
    
X-ray equipment used in cardiac catheterization lab.

2. Which is left heart catheterization ?
    
Left heart catheterization is always done at the same time as coronary angiography with a special catheter called Pig Tail. It helps to measure the hemodynamic constants (pressure, resistance) and partly to make radiographs after opacification (injection of opaque product) within the left cardiac chambers.

3. What are the indications ?

The coronary angiography is the gold standard test in case of suspicion by the cardiologist of coronary artery disease: angina, myocardial infarction ...

Sometimes, the coronary angiography is performed before surgery especially when the patient has cardiovascular risk factors.

The coronary angiography may be proposed to explore stabilized heart failure that can be indicative of coronary disease.

The coronary angiography may be supplemented by other tests such as:

    right heart catheterization to measure intracardiac pressure and cardiac output.
    coronary angioplasty. In some cases it can be done in the wake if there a significant coronary stenosis.

4. How is the test done?

Before the test

The doctor has the results of routine tests (ECG, RX thorax taken blood ...). The patient is fasting.

The area where the catheter must be inserted (the fold of the groin, arm or forearm) is shaved and washed with an antiseptic solution to prevent infection. The patient is then covered with a sterile field.

An intravenous infusion is set up.

During the test
        

The patient is lying on its back on the exam table. A continuous ECG monitoring is established. The invasive-cardiologist wears a lead apron (to protect against excessive exposure to ionizing radiation) and is dressed sterile.

The cardiologist administers a local anesthetic by injection under the skin in the area where the catheter must be inserted (the fold of the groin, arm or forearm). It injects the femoral artery (if the insertion is in the fold of the groin) or brachial artery (if the insertion is in the arm) or the radial artery (if the insertion is at of the forearm) and sets up the sheath.

The doctor moves the catheter to the coronary angiography and visually controls the exam by fluoroscopy. When the catheter is positioned, it makes a contrast injection and records the images with different plans.

At end of the test

The catheter and the sheat are removed and the artery is compressed manually to prevent bleeding. A compression bandage is established and the patient can return to his room.

It is also possible to perform hemostasis (all phenomena to stop bleeding) at the end of coronary angiography with material that can seal the drain hole in the artery (angioseal, starclose). The mobilization of patients can be done earlier (after 1 hour). When the examination is performed by radial immediate mobilization is possible.

After the test

The patient remains under supervision in the hospital.

The compression bandage is kept for several hours after coronary angiography. It is then removed if the local state is satisfactory. The mobilization is possible according to the instructions of the doctor who performed the examination (between 1 and 6 hours). Biological control of renal function may be done the next day. In most cases the patient can return to his home the day after the examination.

The coronary angiography, in general takes less than thirty minutes.

The test is not painful (the only unpleasant part can be local anesthesia). It may be uncomfortable for longer lying down on a relatively hard table. Each injection of contrast may be accompanied by a brief sensation of heat.

Possible risks

risks are rare and usually benign. They may be due to:

puncture of the artery which can cause
  • infection
  • haemorrhage
  • haematomas (resolve spontaneously)
  • an arterial aneur
injection of iodized product
  • allergy to iodine that can be prevented by medications (antihistamines, corticosteroids)
  • the renal failure whose risk is minimized by restricting the amount of contrast injected and by proper hydration of the patient
Other
  • heart failure

La coronarographie et le cathétérisme cardiaque gauche

1. Qu'est-ce que la coronarographie?   

La coronarographie est une technique d'imagerie médicale utilisée en cardiologie pour visualiser les artères coronaires. C'est un examen médical complémentaire invasif qui utilise la technique de radiographie aux rayons X et l'injection d'un produit de contraste iodé. C'est un examen très précis qui permet parfois de traiter une lésion coronaire dans le même temps (angioplastie coronaire).

Cet examen est réalisé en hospitalisation.
    
Appareillage de radioscopie utilisé en salle de cathétérisme cardiaque.

2. Qu'est que le cathétérisme cardiaque gauche?   

Le cathétérisme cardiaque gauche est toujours réalisé en même temps que la coronarographie à l'aide d'un cathéter spécial appelé Pig Tail. Il permet de mesurer les constantes hémodynamiques (pression, résistance) et d'autre part de réaliser des radiographies après opacification (injection de produit opaque) à l'intérieur des cavités cardiaques gauches.

3. Quelles sont les indications?   

La coronarographie est l'examen de référence en cas de suspicion par le cardiologue de maladies des artères coronaires : angor, infarctus du myocarde...

Parfois, la coronarographie est réalisée avant une intervention chirurgicale lourde surtout lorsque le malade présente des facteurs de risque cardiovasculaire.

La coronarographie peut être proposée pour explorer une insuffisance cardiaque stabilisée pouvant être révélatrice d'une maladie des coronaires.

La coronarographie peut être complétée par d'autres examens tels que:

  •     un cathétérisme droit : pour mesurer les pressions intra cardiaques ainsi que le débit.
  •     une angioplastie des coronaires. Dans certains cas, elle peut être effectuée dans la foulée en cas de sténose significative d'une coronaire.

4. Comment se déroule l'examen?   

Avant l'examen

Le médecin dispose des résultats des examens de routine (ECG, RX thorax, prise de sang...). Le patient est à jeun.

La zone où les cathéters doivent être insérés (pli de l'aine, bras ou avant-bras) est rasée et lavée avec une solution antiseptique pour prévenir les infections. Le patient est ensuite recouvert d'un champ stérile.

Une perfusion en intraveineuse est mise en place.

Pendant l'examen
          
Le patient est en position allongée sur le dos sur la table d'examen. Un électrocardioscope de surveillance continu de son ECG est mis en place. Le cardiologue-coronarographiste porte un tablier de plomb (pour se protéger contre une exposition excessive aux rayonnements ionisants) et est habillé de façon stérile.

Il pratique une anesthésie locale par injection sous la peau dans la région où les cathéters doivent être insérés (pli de l'aine, bras ou avant-bras). Il ponctionne l'artère fémorale (si l'insertion est au niveau du pli de l'aine) ou l'artère brachiale (si l'insertion est au niveau du bras) ou l'artère radiale (si l'insertion est au niveau de l'avant bras) et met en place l'introducteur (désilet).

Pendant que le médecin monte le cathéter de coronarographie jusqu'à la coronaire, il contrôle visuellement ses gestes par radioscopie. Lorsque le cathéter est bien positionné, il fait une injection de produit de contraste et effectue un enregistrement de l'image selon différentes incidences.

A la fin de l'examen

Les cathéters et l'introducteur sont retirés, puis  l'artère est comprimée manuellement pour éviter un saignement. Un pansement compressif (paquet de compresses serrées) est mis en place et le patient peut regagner sa chambre.

Il est également possible d'effectuer l'hémostase (ensemble des phénomènes permettant de faire cesser une hémorragie) à la fin de la coronarographie à l'aide de matériels qui permettent d'obturer l'orifice de ponction de l'artère (angioseal, starclose). La mobilisation des patients peut alors être effectuée plus tôt (après 1 heure). Lorsque l'examen est réalisé par voie radiale, une mobilisation immédiate est possible.

Après l'examen

Le patient reste sous surveillance à l'hôpital.

Le pansement compressif est gardé plusieurs heures après la coronarographie. Il est alors enlevé et si l'état local est satisfaisant, la mobilisation est possible en fonction des instructions du médecin qui a pratiqué l'examen (entre 1 et 6 heures). Un contrôle biologique de la fonction rénale peut être fait le lendemain. Le plus souvent, le patient peut retourner à son domicile le lendemain de l'examen.

La coronarographie simple dure, en général, moins de trente minutes.

L'examen n'est pas douloureux (la seule partie désagréable pouvant être l'anesthésie locale). Il peut être inconfortable par l'allongement sur une table relativement dure. Chaque injection de produits de contraste peut être accompagnée d'une brève sensation de chaleur.

Les risques possibles

Les risques sont rares et le plus souvent bénins. Ils peuvent être dus à:

la ponction de l'artère qui peut entraîner
  • des infections
  • des hémorragies
  • des hématomes (se résorbent de façon spontanée)
  • d'un anévrisme artériel ( dilatation du calibre de l'artère pouvant nécessiter une petite chirurgie vasculaire)
l'injection du produit iodé
  • allergie, pouvant être prévenue par des médicaments (antihistaminiques, corticoïdes )
  • insuffisance rénale dont le risque est minimisé si on limite la quantité totale de produit de contraste injectée et si on assure une bonne hydratation du patient
Autres
  • insuffisance cardiaque